Home Page

Diogelu ac Amddiffyn Plant/ Safeguarding & Child Protection

Safeguarding & Child Protection

Diogelu ac Amddiffyn Plant

Safeguarding and Child Protection are key priorities for Gabalfa Primary School.  We aim to support vulnerable children to ensure they are as safe as they can possibly be.  Our school is committed to ensuring the safety and protection of all children and will take action to safeguard their well-being.  We acknowledge that children have a right to protection and this is supported in the general ethos of our school.


The school's policy applies to the whole of the school's workforce, along with volunteers, governors and any contractors working on the school site.  In particular Staff recruitment and selection - ensuring that all staff (volunteers etc.) have been appropriately DBS checked for their suitability, using the Safe Recruitment procedures.


We work in partnership with outside agencies to safeguard children.

When there are concerns it may be necessary to make a referral to Children’s Services.


At Gabalfa Primary School we have comprehensive policies for the safeguarding of all children.   One of the policies contained within this set of policies is our Child Protection Policy.  All staff and governors undertake safeguarding training that equips them to recognise and respond to child welfare concerns.


These concerns are then passed to the Designated Senior Person (DSP), Mrs C Jenkins  (Head Teacher), or in her absence  one of the Deputy Designated Senior Persons :  

  • Mrs Claire Routledge (ALNCo)
  • Mrs Elizabeth Prescott (Deputy Headteacher)
  • Mrs Elly Sandford (Lead teacher in Key Stage 2)
  • Miss Rhian Jones (Lead teacher in Foundation Phase)


All DSPs follow strict guidelines on how to deal with any concerns as set out in the All Wales Child Protection Procedures.


The nominated Governors for Child Protection are Mrs Emma Akinlade and Mr David Hunter.